Abhivyakti Featured

6 Must Read Books Of Enid Blyton

Written by Komal

There is more treasure in books than in all the Pirate’s loot on treasure Island

“The best way to treat obstacles is to use them as stepping-stones. Laugh at them, tread on them, and let them lead you to something better.” says Enid Blyton an English Children’s writer in Mr. Galliano’s Circus. It is rightly said, a person should get correct learning from the starting of their life itself. School is the best place to learn, so is the books of Enid Blyton. We all have experienced reading books of Enid Blyton, in our school days as a part of our course curriculum. Let’s take on a walk down the memory lane, with the books of Enid Blyton. 


It is a 21 book series about four cousins and their dog Timmy, who meet up every vacation and have an ‘adventure’. They used to go on thrilling places and visit and discover — Kirrin Island, Smuggler’s Top, Owl’s Dene, the lighthouse at Demon’s Rocks and farms, castles, caves and secret passages galore.



The Secret Seven are a secret society who hold regular meetings and organize things to do, whether it’s helping the community in some way, solving mysteries that turn up, or just having fun playing Red Indians in the woods.

The Seven have a secret password, a badge, and a secret headquarters in a garden shed. The Seven are led by Peter and include Peter’s sister Janet, and their friends Jack, Colin, George, Pam and Barbara. They are joined by their golden spaniel, Scamper.


Malory Towers is a boarding school for girls in Cornwall. Enid Blyton wrote six books for this series between 1946 and 1951. The heroine is Darrell Rivers, who enters the school in the first form and becomes head girl when she is in the sixth. But of course it’s not all plain sailing for Darrell and her friends.


Girl detective Nancy Drew was quite the inspiration for many young girls all over the world. The original Nancy Drew series changed female stereotypes of those times with the young woman nailing criminals and fighting danger.


The Hardy boys are two teenage brothers with some of their detective father’s talents. The young sleuths often help their father or stumble upon incidents that lead to them inevitably cracking a case. The boys also teamed up with Nancy Drew in books and TV series, much to the delight of fans.


This is set in a co-ed boarding school called whyteleaf and revolves around a rebellious girls called Elizabeth, who goes from being the Naughtiest girl in the school to a responsible young woman




If you enjoyed this post, I’d be very grateful if you’d help it spread by emailing it to a friend, or sharing it on Twitter or Facebook. Do not forget to like on facebook and follow us on instagram. Send your entries too…

Thank you! Signing off
-Team Social Mela

About the author